She fought the good fight!

An unexpected call at 7:33 am on 15th April from a friend saying, Ang, they think Alisha is gone, she is not responding. A moment of silence filled my being. Not ready to believe what I heard. I got dressed, reached her place along with my friend and her brother opened the door. I looked at him wanting to ask- is she ok? until I entered her room and saw her sleeping in peace. Even as I sat beside the bed touching her and brushing my fingers through her hair, with tears in my eyes I asked God to bring her back. Wake her up and make her well completely. Do what only you can do, Lord. But I guess our ways are not His ways.

Alisha suffered immensely in the last few months; but despite her pain she smiled, she showed strength and great courage. Alisha always said count your small mercies. Be thankful that you’ve made it through another day despite the hardships. Know that His mercies are new every morning. So, rejoice and be glad! Seeing a new day is a good enough reason to celebrate.

 Now that she is gone, I know she is in a better place with Jesus, dancing, rejoicing and that she is finally home to place she belongs.  Well done my friend, you’ve left us with such great memories and valuable lessons. Oh, how grateful I am to have had you in my life, a gracious host and a solid dost. Thank you, Jesus, for our 25 years of friendship.

God with Us

There was an ache in the heart, for what, was told

Sorry dear, you must be bold

The report from the doctor made us cold.

You walk out of the room, gathering all the courage you can

A moment of silence where one can’t understand

Then the question arises, why me?

How can this be?

A few months back, I was a normal me.

Who knew this season would come

When family and friends gather around

To build your faith on solid ground.

To assure you no matter the cost.

We live each day as it comes.

Praying unceasingly, Lord, let thy will, be done.

Sleepless nights filled with pain

Screaming, crying, groaning over and over again

Help us, Lord, hear our prayer let this anguish not be in vain.

We depend on you; we call on your name.

Immanuel’ God with us

Every beginning has an end.

Every dark cloud has a silver lining.

What started with a plight?

Ended with a good fight.

8 thoughts on “She fought the good fight!

  1. Angie you are such an amazing writer! You express feeling, emotion, pain etc to its core. Love reading your muses and simultaneously recalling the little girl I met umpteen year ago has turned out so brilliant. God bless you dear friend..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” Proverbs 18:24.
    This verse is meant for you Angie
    You are a beautiful writer as well as a friend that anyone could wish for.
    Alisha was so blessed to have you in her life
    Love u darling 😘

    Like

  3. Hi Angela, This is so so well written and so apt as well. Alisha, oh man what do I say to describe this Amazing Human, Kindest Heart I have ever met, JESUS WARRIOR..I miss my dost so much too Angela, the solace though; is that Aly is happy and pain free. Joyful in the loving arms of our Jesus Lord and Saviour. Blessed to meet Aly in 2020 but who knew those would be the last memories with my champ of person. Whenever I spoke to Aly on the phone, she was so so Thankful to Jesus for angels around her in Your family and You. God Bless You Immensely For All That You Did For Aly. Take Care Sis

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.